Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I setup my GMail account with Thunderbird years ago, it had a specific option for GMail. I choose it and everything worked fine and dandy. However, whenever Thunderbird checks the mail for me, it moves my mail from the inbox (on GMail) to the "All Mail" folder. How can I prevent it from doing this?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 1 down vote accepted

If you set this up years ago, then you are almost certainly using POP. I think it is worth it to reconfigure Thunderbird to use IMAP. It is much better suited to storing messages on the server, and for dealing with multiple computers accessing the same account (like a desktop and a laptop). For laptop use (or as a backup), you can even have it configured to download and store a copy of all of you mail on your computer, and keep that archive synched up to the server, and accessible from other clients.

You can do this by simply creating a new account in Thunderbird, and deleting the old one once you are satisfied that it all works.

share|improve this answer
    
how can I get my old main, and contacts into the new account? –  Malfist Apr 7 '10 at 13:29
    
This is not a new account in GMail, but a new account in Thunderbird that accesses your existing GMail account in a different way. All of your old mail, etc will still be available through the new Thunderbird account. –  KeithB Apr 7 '10 at 14:46
    
I understand that, but I'm talking about my already downloaded messages, and address book. Is there a way I can add them to the new account? –  Malfist Apr 7 '10 at 15:11
    
Well, you can drap&drop messages in Thunderbird. If you drag&drop into an IMAP folder (a folder belonging to your new IMAP account), it should automatically upload them to GMail. Better test with a single mail, though. –  sleske Apr 7 '10 at 15:49
add comment

This assumes that you are connecting via POP.

Go to Tools > Account Settings > Server Settings (for your account).

In the group box "Server Settings" there's an option "Leave messages on server".

Check this and then check the "Until I delete them" option too, otherwise they'll get automatically deleted a few days later.

share|improve this answer
    
that's not it. That's for deleting messages once I've deleted them. –  Malfist Apr 7 '10 at 13:28
add comment

Did you configure Thunderbird to access GMail via IMAP? Then it should not do that.

I use Thunderbird via IMAP and don't see this. For POP3 it would be expected.

share|improve this answer
    
it is not configured for IMAP, how can I do that? –  Malfist Apr 7 '10 at 13:28
    
see KeithB's answer for setting up IMAP –  sleske Apr 7 '10 at 15:48
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.