Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Is there some governing body that comes up with the specifications for different RAID levels?

If not, how are they decided?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

There is (or was) an advisory board according to many sources online but their website isn't online anymore. You can find many graphical explanations for different RAID levels online. The Storage Review link does include a real deal about many details.

share|improve this answer

The original RAID levels (1-5) were defined in the research paper that first defined/invented RAID (

Further levels (RAID0, 6, 1+0 etc) have been coined in a somewhat ad-hoc fashion as researchers or companies have introduced these variants. AFAIK there's no organization that have ever standardized these terms, they have just become de-facto standard terms.

share|improve this answer

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .