Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How do I remove the warning before deleting a shortcut in Windows XP? Every time I want to delete a shortcut it warns me that I'm not actually deleting the program, just a shortcut.

share|improve this question
    
Did you Right click the recycle bin, properties. Uncheck "Display delete confirmation dialog" –  Moab Oct 26 '10 at 19:22
    
@Moab Isn't that for emptying the Recycle Bin...? –  Shinrai Oct 26 '10 at 19:52
    
@Shinrai: No, it's not. Moab is right. –  Mehper C. Palavuzlar Oct 27 '10 at 6:41
    
Oh, awesome. That's a totally inane place to put it, then...! –  Shinrai Oct 27 '10 at 14:06
add comment

1 Answer

Do you just want it to display the normal "Are you sure you want to delete this" dialog instead of the special shortcut one? Because that is the same number of clicks. You can also shift+delete to delete instead of sending it to the recycling bin.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.