Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I visit a site and zoom in/out (CTRL+Scroll Up/Down) Chrome seems to remember that zoom level for that specific site. Is there a way to make it so that it doesn't remember and is always at the original size when a new tab is opened?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 3 down vote accepted

Upon further discovery, this was reported back in May as having been present in Incognito mode, too. My testing using Chrome 7.0.517.44 shows that it does not happen in Incognito, although I did a purge within Incognito, too. In any event, in REGULAR mode, Chrome stores your domains and zoom levels in the Preferences file (found, on Win 7 Pro 64 bit, at c:/Users/NAME/AppData/Local/Google/Chrome/User Data/Default) whether you purge your history or not. You can open this with Notepad and manually edit out the listings. Was interesting to see everything that was listed in there, including ancient browsing history. This file also includes some entries for "most visited blacklist" but these are hash files, and not overtly-listed domain names like the zoom level listings. This is definitely a bug in Chrome, as purging your history does not remove these entries from Preferences. This, then, begs the question of what other files maintain URL info in them, too. For now, the only solution is to use Incognito, or remember to never zoom in Chrome regular mode.

share|improve this answer
1  
Good information Lenny, thanks. I marking this as accepted being that it is considered an issue and there really isn't a solution yet. –  Chris Wagner Nov 8 '10 at 23:38
add comment

This is a real problem because it shows that Chrome still retains browsing data even after purging the history and all previous stuff. Despite a purge, your zoom level is retained for the domain, which means somewhere in the guts of Chrome is a listing of all domains and their zoom levels, which never gets purged. I have not tested this in Incognito mode. Google needs to fix this, or really reveal what gets retained in its browser after a purge.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.