ImgBurn has adware in it!

I just used it and now all my google results are redirecting to those ad like pages.

Where is a safe place to get it from?

I used betanews: http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail/ImgBurn/1128426215/1 (dont install from here!)

link|improve this question

36% accept rate
Was that the link recently posted as an answer to a previous question? – Troggy Aug 10 '09 at 19:32
feedback

3 Answers

I just used the betanews mirror and installed it for fun, there is no adware in it as far as I and my anti-malware programs can see. My google searches are not redirected in any browser - though of course that doesn't mean everything is fine, with computer software one can never really truly know ^^

Perhaps you clicked the fake download link of an advertisement on the site, instead of the imgburn download link?

link|improve this answer
+1: I almost clicked on the wrong button as well. It can be quite deceptive, I'll bet this is what happened. – EvilChookie Aug 10 '09 at 19:59
+1: some ads seems to be designed to be mixed up with the real 'download' link – Joakim Elofsson Aug 10 '09 at 22:26
Same thing happened to me the first time I downloaded it. – Feanor Aug 11 '09 at 16:21
feedback

No it doesn't. I just binary compared the BetaNews one you linked to, to http://download.imgburn.com/SetupImgBurn_2.5.0.0.exe and they're identical.

I suspect your adware has come from somewhere else, or you clicked the wrong link.

By the way the official site is http://www.imgburn.com/

link|improve this answer
feedback

Try their website. They have tons of mirrors.

List of mirrors

I've never used imgburn before, but I use powerISO. I know it doesn't come with adware

link|improve this answer
feedback

Your Answer

 
or
required, but never shown

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.