Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am using Picasa to edit my images. After I fixed a bunch of images I looked at them by browsing my file system and find they are all in their original state. I wanted to find them in their altered state with the edits I made in Picasa.

I want to back them up as well as send them for printing. But I dont want to do this with the originals, only the edited up versions.

How do I access the edited versions of the images?

when i look at old albums in picasa they persisted the edits from when i made them, but when i look at the file on disk its not the same.

share|improve this question
1  
Did you click the save/apply button in Picasa? –  digitxp Jan 9 '11 at 12:58
    
i just make the edits and click the right button to move to the next image –  kacalapy Jan 9 '11 at 13:00
    
when i look at old albums in picasa they persisted the edits from when i made them, but when i look at the file on disk its not the same. so picasa has to save this somewhere... –  kacalapy Jan 9 '11 at 13:02

3 Answers 3

From the Picasa Help page:

Saving Edits: Saving photos

Picasa is designed to keep your original photos safe when you save your photo edits. This is done by creating a new JPEG file that's a copy of the original with your edits applied. The original photo is never altered, but depending on how you save the file, its location on your hard drive may change. Here's a brief overview of the different save options in Picasa, based on how they affect the location of your original photos.

Move your original photo

When you use the Save to Disk and the File > Save options, Picasa creates a copy of your photo with all edits applied and moves the original to a subfolder called '.picasaoriginals'. This subfolder is hidden on your computer and isn't visible in Picasa. This automatic backup lets you undo or revert your saves.

  • Save to Disk

  • File > Save

Keep your original photo in its current location

Unlike Save to Disk and the File > Save function, the following options don't move your original photos. These options create and save a new copy of your photo with all edits applied, leaving your original photo unmoved. The new copy with edits applied is saved to a different location depending on the option you choose.

  • Export

  • File > Save a Copy

  • File > Save As

share|improve this answer
2  
Next time please leave some more info @kacalapy and use comments to reply to others –  Ivo Flipse Jan 9 '11 at 14:40

After editing your pic in Picasa, click on "file" in the upper left corner of your screen, scroll down & click on "save a copy". This will add the edited version of your picture in your original picture file next to the original picture. You can go back to all the pictures you previously edited & click on each one "Edit in Picasa". This will pull up your previously edited version, then you can simply click on "file" & "save a copy".

share|improve this answer

I believe Picasa makes a folder in the original folder in which the images are located and the edits are stored ( It also might be a hidden folder , dont exactly remember as i havent used picasa in a long time , but I am sure the edits are in a sub folder)

share|improve this answer
1  
Comment by @kacalapy: @shark its actually the other way around. also i was sorry to learn that all my images for the past few years didnt have the edits saved and are now lost and all i have are the originals because i didnt hit save. –  Ivo Flipse Jan 9 '11 at 14:39

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.