We prepare ghost images for each of the computers we manage. Basically we start with a running system (previous image), perform a number of manual changes to the system's configuration (install/configure software, change network settings, etc.), and generate a DVD image for this computer. The DVD is then loaded up in the target computer (in another country) and is then ready to go.
We want LMI installed on these computers. However, when we uninstall LMI and re-install it (to give this new computer a different name from the previous one), the original computer is removed from LMI Central. I assume removing computers when uninstalling the software is desired behaviour in most cases, but it is problematic for us.
How can we tell LMI that this is a new computer without affecting the previous one?
I thought about disconnecting the network cable when uninstalling LMI, but am not sure this would work as intended. What is the best workaround?