Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose I created a network connection "ABC" and then I deleted it. Now if I create a network connection with the same name as the previous one then after connecting windows 7 shows the name of the connected network as "ABC1". If I repeat the process I get "ABC2" and so on.

So does windows remember them somewhere may in the registry?

How can I remove this?

share|improve this question
    
The simplest procedure is to search the registry for "ABC". Assuming it's a unique string it should be clear when you've found it. –  ChrisF Feb 21 '11 at 21:03
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 2 down vote accepted

Go to Control Panel (icon view) > Network and sharing center

Double Click on the Icon next to your Current network, a "Set Network Properties" window will open, then click "Merge or delete network locations"

You should be able to delete any unused locations you no longer need.

. enter image description here

share|improve this answer
    
+1 Your one has nicer pictures than mine. –  user3463 Feb 22 '11 at 4:02
add comment

Check in this location:

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkList\Profiles.

There are a couple of other locations in that region that might be used as well.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.