I'm on Windows 7, deleting files on Windows Server 2003.
It feels like just the act of selecting the folder, and especially opening it, will put it "in use" for at least 20-30 seconds. After waiting long enough, I can delete it. It's not in use locally, unlocker can't delete it. It's in use on the network. But I can walk over to the server and delete it every time. Sometimes it deletes immediately, for example if I delete quickly after highlighting it.
I also always get the irritating confirmation about "are you sure you want to move/delete this system file or folder" (because of the thumbs.db file, of which I have to move/delete a zillion). How to disable that?