I've had service for domain names for years with Namebargain.com. (they are owned by register.com). However the site has changed and when I go to login I notice that 'namebargain.com' is no longer in the address bar, that it's a site called: "securesellerservices.com", which in turn doesn't seem to come up in the WHOIS databases?

I just want to make sure they haven't been taken over by a phishing site. Any ideas?

link|improve this question
feedback

3 Answers

You should telephone them with a number that you already have on file (usually this will be included in past invoices) and ask them directly. If you rely on telephone numbers on a web site that you suspect may already be hacked, then even those phone numbers are suspect because they could have been changed from that they were supposed to be.

link|improve this answer
1  
This is definitely good thinking. – Blomkvist May 20 '11 at 17:21
1  
@Blomkvist: Thanks. I find that many people miss this point a lot and tend to just trust what they read without questioning. When it comes to security matters, skepticism is one of the best tools we have available. – Randolf Richardson May 20 '11 at 17:29
Thanks Randolf. Sadly I haven't had a paper invoice in probably a decade. I should be able to find the info somewhere though. Blomkvist below notes that the secureresellerservices.com domain is used in hundreds of sites but there seems to be no details of what the entity is. Really I think it's all just Register.com's setup, but better to be safe than sorry. Even the wiliest users can get caught out these days. – kellyllek May 20 '11 at 18:33
@kellyllek: Perhaps an invoice was sent to you via eMail? Hopefully you're keeping those in a separate folder (for financial matters, it's important to always keep a paper trail for things like this, budgeting, audits, etc.). You could always check with Register.Com as well (since you indicated them as being a key participant). – Randolf Richardson May 20 '11 at 19:07
1  
A side-note regarding payments: If a company you purchase goods or services from does not send you an invoice (or at least a receipt) that at least indicates the dollar amount with the date of the transaction, then this is a "big red flag" that shows that they don't know how to manage their finances correctly (e.g., they're disorganized), and very likely are not handling other aspects of their business properly either. I'd feel very uncomfortable if I had to rely on a vendor like this. – Randolf Richardson May 20 '11 at 19:11
feedback

I think your concern may be justified. I can't find any notable article of a company called secure reseller services yet they control the login pages of a staggering number of sites.

If you want to see something interesting change the last three digits of the 7 digit prefix and it will take you to another login page for a completely different company. As an example:

https://1000957.secureresellerservices.com/my-account/login.aspx?

They could be legitimate though. If this company is solely the construct of a law firm for the purposes of arbitration their wouldn't be much in the way of documentation. Just to be safe you might send an email detailing your concerns to "support@namebargain.com".

link|improve this answer
1  
Rather than email them it would probably be better to do what Randolph suggests. – Blomkvist May 20 '11 at 17:24
1  
yeah bizarre that I couldn't find anything on the first couple of google pages. Most of the sites do seem to be somehow with Register.com. I'm sure it is fine, but not dead sure. I'll wait and see if anyone else has some thoughts. – kellyllek May 20 '11 at 18:30
feedback

I justed wanted to inform anyone looking at this that NameBargain.com did indeed get a site makeover and they are the same organization. I signed in with my former credentials and all my account info is there.

Thanks again for the help and info.

link|improve this answer
feedback

Your Answer

 
or
required, but never shown

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.