Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm trying to set up a workspace in PS CS5. I create a new one, and set it up how I like, and as there's no explicit save option, I assume it saves on change/on exit. Which is fine, but on starting Photoshop again, it'll open the ones I saved, and some extra ones.

It's the same sort of behaviour as when you open the Layers panel and it attempts to open the other panels which are usually docked in the same group, like Paths. I want to know how to disable this behaviour; not sure what to search for in the help to look for it :(

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 0 down vote accepted

Ah, Photoshop doesn't save your Workspace changes on exit, you have to explicitly tell it to save them.

How do you do this?

First set everything as you want it. Then select Workspace > New Workspace. This will then save your current layout under the Workspace name you provide.

If you want to update an existing Workspace, then do the same, but enter the name of the Workspace you want to update. Then select "Yes" to overwrite the existing settings. A bit annoying, but there you go.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the reply but this answer doesn't seem to be fully correct: testing with a default workspace (design) and closing the swatches panel, I exited PS and opened again (without declaring a new workspace), and the panel was not there in the design workspace, suggesting it saved my change without me having to do a new workspace. That said, I did set up how I wanted and made my custom workspace which seems to work now, though similarly if I change and close, it remembers the changes I made. –  ataulm Jul 11 '11 at 9:05
    
You're right, it does remember how it is set when you exit Photoshop, but it also allows you to "reset" it. If this feature is working for you, what's the problem, exactly? –  Django Reinhardt Jul 11 '11 at 20:48
    
I tested the above on my laptop, where it works. On my work PC, it doesn't - choosing "reset" will make the panels like the swatches come back up, as though it's not recognising any changes after the initial set. They're the same version of PS, same OS (Win7, clean installs) - could there be a setting anywhere (perhaps Windows-side) which is preventing overwriting of the initial workspace? –  ataulm Jul 12 '11 at 17:10
    
Strange, I'm running on a clean install of Win7 using CS5, too. I don't have any issues with it. Weird :( –  Django Reinhardt Jul 13 '11 at 11:28
    
marked this as correct answer, as it seems to be an environmental issue - the steps listed in this answer will solve the issue in a working environment. Thanks for the help Johnny. –  ataulm Jul 16 '11 at 11:31

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.