Sign up ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

On Snow Leopard when you closed and open another document with it, the previous documents did not reopen. On Lion, however, it seems that Preview is always reopening things that I thought I closed. How can I disable this behavior?

share|improve this question

4 Answers 4

up vote 3 down vote accepted

You can also use a utility called RestoreMeNot for disabling window restoration for individual applications.

enter image description here

It's a System Preference Pane that allows you to exclude apps from Mac OS X 10.7 Lion's Application Resume feature.

share|improve this answer
looks very promising. thank you – cwd Dec 8 '11 at 20:24
It's just a UI to defaults write NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows, but nevertheless quite useful. – Daniel Beck Dec 8 '11 at 20:31

Resume can be disabled from System Preferences:

You can also override that setting for individual apps with something like:

defaults write NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Most apps now have an action called Quit and Close All Windows or Quit and Keep Windows under ⌥⌘Q depending on the default set in System Preferences.

You can also prevent windows from being reopened by holding shift while opening an application. (It works when the application is opened from the Dock, Launchpad, or Finder, but not when using the Spotlight menu or some third party apps or scripts). And it doesn't work the other way around when Resume is disabled either.

share|improve this answer
Have you figured out how to enable it again from defaults? It ignored the value for me (only checks if set), and defaults delete does not work. – Daniel Beck Dec 9 '11 at 12:14

Or, you can use cmd+option+q to quit the The next time opening the, won't restore the window. The same method can be used for other application (e.g, Safari)

share|improve this answer

You can uncheck the "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps" checkbox in System Preference -> General.

It will not reopen things any more.

But after this setting, the preview no longer keep the last position of reading. Seems no perfect way to fix this.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.