Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've got one problem with Chrome sync: I can't delete anything. It's like... merging everything from the past, to the latest minute. Everything.

If I delete the applications I've tried (like offline GMail), it'll install them on the other PC too. (Or if I remove Chrome and re-sync).

Is there a way to remove something from the Chrome sync?
(Except erasing everything... I don't really want to start saving my passwords and stuff again.)

share|improve this question
    
I guess chrome team didn't resolve any conflict in sync. That's why this is happening. –  user Jan 15 '12 at 9:34
    
I am having the same issue with Chrome sync. I have a homepage tab that I set that I can no longer get rid of (unless I manually remove it on each computer i set up sync on). What needs to happen is when something is removed it has to be removed from the "repository" also. –  Steven Lu Feb 5 '12 at 23:28

3 Answers 3

To delete sync data from chrome is easy you have to actually Delete sync data from Google Dashboard.

Just go here and delete sync data. this might take a some time.

Try to sync again, login again in chrome with your google data

share|improve this answer

I was able to solve my issues by cleaning up the settings on one "master" chrome instance, setting everything the way I wanted it to be. Then, I went to Google Dashboard and cleared all Chrome Sync data from there. It takes a few minutes, refresh until it says everything is empty ("Nothing to see here"), go ahead and sign in to sync on Chrome. Now everything should be good. Just try not to add stuff you dont want from now on, like syncing to your account on an instance of Chrome which has a bunch of settings you do not want.

share|improve this answer
    
That is quite inconvenient. Thanks for the help, though. Guess I'll do this while there is no easier way. –  Shiki Feb 6 '12 at 2:26
    
It's not too much work, and it allows you to have full control rather than worrying about if certain delete operations got registered and such. –  Steven Lu Feb 6 '12 at 4:15

if you hit the configuration-wrench, then options, then private you will see a section concerning login, if you hit 'Extended' or 'Advanced' (i dont use the english version) in that section you will get a small window where you can select which data shall be synchronized.

that 'should' help. you might have to do that on all machines that are connected to your google-account, i am not sure about that. play around a bit.

share|improve this answer
1  
Yeah, but I want to keep everything sync-ed. By sync, I don't want deleted content re-appearing. It's really annoying, to have about 10apps installed again, and again after every re-sync. –  Shiki Jan 14 '12 at 13:28

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.