Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I once connected my network drives using the GUI and had selected the "Remember" feature. So every time the computer reboots, it auto-connects to the network drives.

Is there a way to tell it not to auto-reconnect these drives anymore?

I've tried removing the drives, then re-adding them without the "Remember" feature, but no-go.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Open a command prompt, and type

net use X: /delete

where X: is the drive letter of the mapped drive. If you want to see all of the connections available for deletion, just do

net use
share|improve this answer
3  
You can use net use * /d /y to quickly stop all connections, with or without drive letters. –  grawity Jan 17 '12 at 19:24
    
@grawity I'd post that as a separate answer if I were you. I almost did, myself. –  Iszi Jan 17 '12 at 21:06
add comment

While I prefer the cli method listed above, it is worth mentioning another way is to right click "Computer" and click "Disconnect Network Drive". Any drives still in use will be listed, can be highlighted and disconnected through the resulting window.

share|improve this answer
    
I couldn't remember if that permanently removes the drive mapping, and I'm not where I can test it. Does it? –  Patrick S. Jan 17 '12 at 20:47
    
Yes it's permanent. Unless one of the drives is part of a domain group policy or a log on script. –  Paperlantern Jan 17 '12 at 21:00
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.