Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Every time I uninstall an application or extension from Chrome, it keeps coming back.

I use Chrome on several computers, and apparently uninstalling an application from a computer doesn't spread the "uninstall" command to the cloud. When I log back into a computer which still has the application, it is considered again as installed and will come back to the computer where I uninstalled it!

If I keep uninstalling it every time I see it on every computer, it eventually stops coming back. Unless I've forgot one, which reintroduces it again...

This happens with every application or extension, mostly on Macs.

Is there a standard way to actually really uninstall it once and have that propagate over the cloud/whatever, or is it a known issue?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

It sounds like you have Sync enabled. Check your Synch settings: Menu button -> Settings, Advanced Sync settings will be near the top.

Either disable Sync, or after uninstalling the apps/extensions that you don’t want, perform a manual sync to propagate your settings to your Google account. Make sure to enable Sync (and/or perform a manual one) on your other systems afterwards.

share|improve this answer
    
How do I perform a manual sync? Disconnecting the account and re-connecting it is way too a bore, and going into "advanced" and just clicking ok apparently does nothing. –  Lohoris Feb 5 '12 at 23:03
    
It should show when it last performed a sync. When you click OK, it should say Last synched: Just now. It may even show the email address it syncs to depending on your version. Does yours show the email address or last sync date/time? –  Synetech Feb 5 '12 at 23:11
    
It shows only the email. In past sometimes it did show the date too, maybe only after a fresh sign-in. –  Lohoris Feb 6 '12 at 9:34
    
> Disconnecting the account and re-connecting it is way too a bore Do you mean too much of a chore? You wouldn’t have to do it all the time, just once in a blue moon when you make a change and want it propagated right away. (I’m not sure what the normal schedule is for syncs, but this discussion indicates that it should be automatic when you make a change.) Try updating your client (Wrench Menu->About Chromium). –  Synetech Feb 6 '12 at 19:46
    
That's the point, the "uninstall" often doesn't propagate, not right away nor ever. Or maybe it does propagate, but when the other client gets it, it overrides it with an "install again". –  Lohoris Feb 7 '12 at 8:07
show 5 more comments

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.