Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Recently I found that when I delete a file, it asks for my password and then it will delete the file permanently without going into the Trash first.

Any way to change that, so that I could retrieve the files in case if I delete something by mistake?

share|improve this question
    
Which operating system? –  iglvzx Mar 29 '12 at 15:23
    
iOS Lion 10.7.3 –  Samson Chan Mar 29 '12 at 15:53
    
It happens to any files. I could not find any deleted files in the trash bin. –  Samson Chan Mar 29 '12 at 16:01
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Try deleting and recreating your Trash. Open up a Terminal and enter:

rm -rf ~/.Trash

If that doesn't work, try the same with sudo – make sure you copy and paste this command exactly as it is, otherwise you're deleting every single file you own. You have been warned:

sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash

Finally, recreate the Trash folder:

mkdir ~/.Trash

Now we only have to restart Finder. Enter:

killall Finder

If that doesn't work, post the output of ls -laO ~/.Trash in your question.

share|improve this answer
    
Done, it works after the sudo step, thanks alot man! Great help! –  Samson Chan Mar 29 '12 at 16:15
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.