Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is there a way to avoid Dropbox Syncing older files back to my account when restoring a CloneZilla system image?

share|improve this question
1  
Dropbox keeps a history of your files for 30 days by default, and if you have a pro account, file histories can be stored indefinitely. You can always just revert to an older version if it syncs over the version you want. Otherwise just disable your internet connection and turn off dropbox/change its default location. –  Lèse majesté Apr 3 '12 at 9:55
    
While restoring my system image and dropbox, dropbox will resync the outdated files and folders back to my dropbox account, thus replacing newer files with the one's located into the previous system backup. All I want to know, is how can I avoid this from happening. –  polyglot Apr 3 '12 at 13:17
1  
How would dropbox sync from your account if you're not connected to the internet? –  Lèse majesté Apr 4 '12 at 0:50

2 Answers 2

You will need to remove the old files and and then resync the current files back to your restored computer.


Dropbox computes file hashes to determine if a file has changed. Your old files will have a different hash than the new ones you do not wish to overwrite.

One way to do this is:

  1. Boot into safe mode and disable (not stop) the Dropbox service.

  2. Restart and Boot normally and then delete all of the files in your dropbox folder.

  3. Start the Dropbox service and allow it to resync.

share|improve this answer
  1. Unplug the network cable.
  2. Restore from Clonezilla.
  3. Delete 'old' files in dropbox folder.
  4. Plug network cable back in to resync dropbox.
share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.