On a Mac with OS X Lion I'm editing a bunch of photos in Preview via the Finder, and any that haven't been edited for a while pop up with an annoying choice of Unlock, Cancel or Duplicate. Well how can I select the whole folder and unlock them all?
Even if don't use Time Machine, the preference in "System Preferences > Time Machine > Options > Lock documents" is still valid, and is enabled by default :S So, uncheck this to stop this behavior.
If it is locked in the same way downloaded files are, you can unlock them by removing the ._* files. Do the following in terminal:
it will ask for the administrator password. If you received no message after entering the password, it worked and your files should be unlocked.
NOTE: Be careful with the second command as it will delete all the files matched by the find. You can chech which files will be delete by running only
Using the command line tool 'touch' works. This changes the last modified date on the file and thereby stops the autosave popup.