Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I know tty can be reduced but I don't know why Most linux distro have 7 tty(s) as a default setting.

Why choose 7 instead of 6 or 3? I had never use all 7 tty at the same time.

And, The reason for move X window to tty 7, Two guesses:

For convenient purpose,

To use all tty? Users prefer to start a small order of tty first?

share|improve this question

closed as not constructive by Paul, grawity, Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007, Journeyman Geek, Nifle Jun 30 '12 at 1:44

As it currently stands, this question is not a good fit for our Q&A format. We expect answers to be supported by facts, references, or expertise, but this question will likely solicit debate, arguments, polling, or extended discussion. If you feel that this question can be improved and possibly reopened, visit the help center for guidance.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

Hello Richard, SU is to find solutions to technical issues, rather than for discussions, please read the faq – Paul Jun 29 '12 at 23:47
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Many releases ago, when people used floppy disks and wrote their own modelines, it was quite common to accidentally break or misconfigure X11, and have various manual pages open in all six ttys while trying to fix it.

Today, I'm guessing it's just out of habit – many users are used to having first 6 ttys to be available for text login, because that's how Linux worked for many years. This is also in various documentation and tutorials.

However, Fedora has recently decided to put X11 on the first tty (vc1).

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .