Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Every time I plug a USB stick into my PC, I get this synchronization dialogue in WMP. It's really annoying, and it also stops my Play/Pause shortcut keys working.

This is really starting to annoy me.

I've found one link which mentions this problem and possible solutions, including a registry hack, but without giving details.

Is anyone else bothered by this, and has anyone found a solution?

EDIT OK, after reading here and here, I fiddled round a bit, ended up synchronising just one file, and then when I next inserted the USB stick, no more popup... Not great, but better.

share|improve this question
    
Which version of Windows Media Player do you have? –  Dave Webb Oct 7 '09 at 9:41
    
@Dave 11 on XP . –  Benjol Oct 7 '09 at 10:27

2 Answers 2

Disable and stop service WPDBusEnum aka Portable Device Enumerator Service

share|improve this answer
    
hm, can't find it (searched in registry just to be sure), does this apply for XP? I found WmdmPmSN. Problem is that my OS is in French, so the display names aren't the same. –  Benjol Oct 7 '09 at 10:32
    
The short service names should be the same for all language versions of windows, it's just the friendly names that get translated. Try running net stop WPDBusEnum at a command prompt to see if it's installed. You can then use this to disable it sc config WPDBusEnum start= disabled –  GAThrawn Oct 20 '09 at 12:02
    
Sorry, didn't see your feedback, I haven't got that service running on my machine apparently. –  Benjol Oct 30 '09 at 7:26

First advice to try (doesn't work on my WMP11):

tools --> option --> Devices tab --> select the device (flash drive with mp3 player icon) then click properties --> Sync tab --> uncheck "Start sync when device connects"

If this doesn't apply, try this:

You have to go through with the the sync just once. Then the option to "Start sync when device connects" will no longer be grayed out.
WMP will have now made a file on your flash drive "WMPInfo.xml".
You have to keep this file on the drive, otherwise you will be asked to sync again. You can delete any other files that were put on the drive from the sync.
This only works for the machine where you performed the snyc. If you do it on another machine, it will overwrite "WMPInfo.xml" and you will be back to square one.

share|improve this answer
    
Yup, "Start sync when device connects" is greyed out for me –  Benjol Oct 8 '09 at 5:51
    
OK, so let it sync, and the next time it won't be grayed out. –  harrymc Oct 8 '09 at 8:57

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.