Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How can I AUTOMATICALLY move a deleted IMAP message to my LOCAL Trash instead of IMAP Trash?

Thunderbird 17.0.3.

[ Message Filters only work on incoming mail. Tools > Account Settings > Server Settings > "When I delete a message" only shows IMAP folders. ]

share|improve this question
    
I found a workaround by adding a message rule to copy all incoming messages to my LOCAL Inbox, and only reading mail from the Local Inbox. You can collapse the IMAP account to partially hide it. When deleted from the Local Inbox, it goes to the Local Trash. There is no option to set the Trash folder for Local Folders, but it goes where I want it. (Also, change Copies&Folders to put Sent, Drafts, Templates into Local Folders.) –  Chloe Mar 14 '13 at 20:26

3 Answers 3

This is unfortunately a known bug. Looks like it's been known for almost 10 years!! Here's the link to bugzilla: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=277854

share|improve this answer

In the Tools/Account Settings/Server Settings set "When I delete a message" to "Move it to this folder" and select the local "Trash" folder. If the Local Trash does not show up - check if you have "Trash" under Local Folders. If it's there - right-click on it and do Properties/Repair Folder. If not - create it.

share|improve this answer
    
I tried Right Click > Properties > Repair and it still won't appear under "Move it to this folder." –  Chloe Mar 6 '13 at 3:57

I have been looking for this all day and as yet I cannot find it.

To summarise Alex's answer, it is correct so far as you get a trash folder to choose, however the trash folder is the servers trash folder not the local one. I cannot yet find a way to do this to a local directory at all only to the servers trash.

In In order that you don't have to worry about the trash however there is an option for you to manage it and ensure the mail on the server is deleted.

Other than that there is the option to check the option above to just delete, you would have to be absolutely certain every time, but its there if you want it.

Right-click Account name > settings > server settings > check the box for empty trash on exit.

Good luck.

share|improve this answer
    
I like to keep my trash forever. It is very useful when looking up old information. –  Chloe Mar 14 '13 at 20:21

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.