Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I' m a Windows newbie because most of my time I use Linux systems so this question may seem stupid. As far as i know there are only 16 IRQs (0-15) and it is chipset - dependent (APIC controller).But when I use control panel in Windows 7 and looked for IRQs I saw a strange thing: enter image description here

I'm russian but I think - it must be clear for everyone. As you can see on the picture there are normal IRQ's like IRQ 0 - system timer, IRQ8 -CMOS, etc...But there IRQ's 16,18(north bridge and so on) and IRQ's 81-102 (Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System).Why are there so many IRQ's on my machine? And what it is Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System and why are there so many IRQ's for it?

share|improve this question
I am irq'd by this too. –  ta.speot.is Mar 13 '13 at 9:27

1 Answer 1

IRQs 0-15 are physical IRQ. Anything higher than 15 is a virtual IRQ. Most IRQs can be shared.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.