Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When I connect my iPhone to my MacBook Pro, Dropbox always launches its Camera Uploads folder in Finder.

Is there any way to turn this off (some command I can run in Terminal, perhaps)?

EDIT: To be clear, I'm not trying to turn off the Camera Uploads feature - I'm specifically trying to prevent the Finder window opening each time I connect my iPhone.

share|improve this question

4 Answers 4

up vote 2 down vote accepted

It appears there is no known way to stop this behavior. I asked Dropbox support about it and got this response.

Thank you for this feedback. This is part of the functionality of camera uploads so unfortunately there isn't a setting to turn this off; thank you for your patience with it. I will pass your feedback onto our Client development team.

share|improve this answer

Not sure if this is the setting you're looking for... However if you go into your dropbox preferences ... You can see this setting:

The last option is selected

If you uncheck the final option

The last option is not selected

All should be well and you should not get bothered by dropbox.

Hope this helps.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, but that's not what I'm looking for here - I enjoy the Camera Upload feature, but what drives me nuts is that the Camera Uploads folder opens each time I plug in my iPhone. I'm betting there's a Terminal command that I can run to turn that off, but I don't know what it would be. –  bryanjclark Mar 21 '13 at 2:01

If you go into the control panel and hit "Autoplay" if will give you a list of preferences of actions you want devices to take when they connect. I think I know what your problem is when windows scans a device to build an index and it previews everything in the drive being connected.

share|improve this answer

The new place to find this option:

Right (or control) Click on the dropbox icon on your menu bar. Click preferences, then the Import icon at the top of the menu. Uncheck Enable camera uploads for:

If you left your dialog box open while you did this, you'll notice that it goes away immediately. Really easy to find, once you realize what you're looking for.

share|improve this answer
    
this doesn't answer my question, actually. thanks for trying to help, but my question is specifically not about turning off the import feature. –  bryanjclark Sep 28 at 23:13

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.