Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

After returning to a computer I haven't used for some days and switching to an open instance of Notepad++, I generally find the following warning for every single file that had previously been open.

Reload - <file> - This file has been modified by another program. Do you want to reload it?

Clearly, either Notepad++ is forgetting something and assuming the file has been changed, or my operating system is, in some trivial way, changing the file enough that Notepad++ deems it worthy of a reload.

Does anyone know what might be happening here? I've seen this on multiple versions of Windows and multiple computers, but I can't find any answers online.

share|improve this question
    
So, are the files actually changed when you reload them? Are the files possible under version control? –  Oliver Salzburg Mar 18 '13 at 18:22
    
Do you happen to be using NTFS and have the last-file access timestamp enabled? –  Breakthrough Mar 18 '13 at 18:22
    
The files are not under version control and, as far as I can tell, are not in any significant way changed. The visual textual content is certainly the same. This happens even with files that are local on machines where I am the only user. –  Ina Mar 18 '13 at 18:23
    
@Breakthrough I'm on NTFS, and I can't work out how to confirm but it seems default on Windows to have that enabled. –  Ina Mar 18 '13 at 18:25
1  
Well, there's really only 2 things possible in this case. Either it's a bug in NPP and it should be reported or the files are actually changed. I haven't checked how NPP checks for file changes, but something is changing something about the file. Maybe it just sets an attribute in the file system. –  Oliver Salzburg Mar 18 '13 at 19:12

2 Answers 2

Workaround: You can change this behaviour by either disabling file change auto-detection, or modifying Notepad++ to display the updated file automatically. This can be done by going to Settings -> Preferences, and under the MISC. tab, look at the area labelled File Status Auto-Detection..

You can either choose to disable the auto-detection (e.g. uncheck "Enabled"), or update the file silently (e.g. check "Update silently").

share|improve this answer
    
Useful workaround for some, but I'd prefer to keep the warning for when things do change (e.g. remote edits). –  Ina Mar 18 '13 at 19:06
    
@Ina can I assume the files are on a networked drive then? If so, it's entirely possible this happens when the server archives the files, another user accesses them (possibly modifying their permissions), or any other file operations occur. Unless the files you're editing are constrained to your local system (and a local hard drive), this might be a side-effect of the network configuration and beyond your control. –  Breakthrough Mar 18 '13 at 19:08
    
Some files are opened from FTP (thus I'd like to see the warning), and some files are simply open in another text editing program or modified programatically (e.g. log files). BUT this behaviour is the same for basic files stored on a local hard drive that are not touched elsewhere. –  Ina Mar 18 '13 at 19:09

This can be due to daylight saving - there's a long standing bug that when the OS changes the time due to daylight saving, all the files are marked as "changed" in N++. N++ uses just datestamps to check if a file has been altered, as the reported file time is different after a daylight saving change, it thinks the file has been modified.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.