Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have some computers that I set up a couple years ago by creating a user account, setting it up the way I wanted, and copying that user's directory over Default User's directory. Pretty simple stuff.

One of the things that I did was to add a printer and set it as the default. Straightforward, or so I thought.

Things have changed, and that printer has been removed and replaced with a different printer. I deleted the old printer's object and added the new one.

Now every time a new user logs in, their profile gets copied from Default User, and they get the old printer as their default. This re-adds the old printer object to the system. Now every user can see the old printer's object again.

I want to permanently delete Default User's default printer. How?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

If you want to install and specify a new default printer I think the easiest way is to:

  1. Login with a new user
  2. Modify it how you please, logout
  3. Login as a local admin (not the user you just modified)
  4. Right-click on My Computer, Properties
  5. Advanced tab, User Profiles Settings button
  6. Select the profile you just modified, select Copy To
  7. Browse to the Default Profile @ C:\Documents and Settings\Default User, click Ok

This KB article describes another method but it sounds like a pain to me.

Edit: If you just want to remove the default printer you can:

  1. Login as a local admin
  2. Start -> Run -> regedit
  3. Click HKEY_USERS
  4. File, Load Hive, browse to C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\ and select NTUSER.DAT
  5. Specify "DU" if prompted for a name
  6. Browse to HKEY_USERS\DU\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows
  7. Look for a key named "Device" of type REG_SZ
  8. Double-click that key, remove the data, press Ok
  9. Browse back to HKEY_USERS\DU, click the File menu, Unload Hive
share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, that's what I thought. I was hoping for something quicker, or a utility for the purpose. – eleven81 Oct 22 '09 at 18:41

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .