Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

During my Windows 7 upgrade (from Vista) I was prompted to deauthorize my computer in iTunes. I did, but why did I have to?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 7 down vote accepted

In order to play DRM protected content, iTunes "authorizes" your particular installation of iTunes to play certain protected files (see the Apple Knowledge Base). DRM protected content can only be played on a certain number (5) of "authorized" devices. When you upgrade to Windows 7, Windows recognizes that that authorization is not going to be carried over to the new OS, so it prompts you to de-authorize your content, so you can re-authorize it when you have finished the upgrade without losing one of your authorized devices. Just another nicety of the Windows 7 experience.

share|improve this answer
    
Perfect. Thanks. –  Al E. Oct 26 '09 at 23:57
add comment

protected by Diago Dec 17 '10 at 14:09

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.