Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I use Google Chrome and I have 100s of bookmarks, history, search preferences, search engines, extensions, and apps installed.

I want to have a new Google account, and I need to move everything from my current account to the new one.

I did sign in to another Chrome and transferred my bookmarks using the Export/Import option. How can I transfer all the Google Chrome data, saved usernames and passwords, and everything else to the new account?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Copy the user data (find it at ~/.config/google-chrome on Linux) then make a new user profile from the settings and delete the other one. Copy back the data and wait for it to sync.

share|improve this answer
    
Wow, will this work, i mean in Windows? – Thedijje Jun 29 '13 at 8:59
1  
I opened Appdata in Windows, and navigated to C:\Users\Thedijje\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data and found two folder named profile1 and default. I opened it and found that this all contain data from both user,i think copying data from Default to Profile1 should move data from one to another account after sync? isn't it? – Thedijje Jun 29 '13 at 9:02
9  
Hang on a minute, you could do it a much easier way. (Sorry...) You can delete the other profile. Goto the menu and click "Signed in as thedijje@gmail.com" then click "disconnect", click "sign in" and click "sign in with a different account" if it doesn't let you change the username. Then sign in with the new account... done! – user234593 Jun 29 '13 at 13:07

[EDIT] According to Aminah Nuraini (in comments) the following is no longer the case.

I'm just going to post this here for greater visibility (as I found it very useful) for future people who come across it, credit goes to user234593:

Go to the menu and at the top under signed in as youremail@gmail.com click disconnect then click sign in and sign in as a different account.

When you click disconnect it warns you that all your data will stay on the computer (which is exactly what you want) and when you sign in with the new account the things get synced to that account

share|improve this answer
    
Great answer... – Jitesh Tukadiya Dec 29 '14 at 12:55
1  
Outdated. Now they make sure all of the data got cleared when you do so – Aminah Nuraini May 9 at 20:20

An old question but the current answer is out of date and I stumbled across this on my quest today (would simply comment this if I had the available rep).

Now the process is:

  1. go to Menu (the 3 line/hamburger sybol in the top right) and click 'settings'
  2. Select the 'disconnect' button which is one of the first buttons at the top of the main section of the settings page you just opened. Confirm you want to leave your data on the PC (do NOT select to clear bookmarks/history etc..)
  3. Close settings tab and sign-in using the man icon in the title bar. This will prompt you that another user was previously signed in on this machine and you can either clear their data, or you can 'sign in anyway' and merge the data. The latter is of course the one we want here.

Hey presto - job complete!

share|improve this answer
    
Same answer as @Chowie – Davidenko Jul 20 '15 at 18:06
    
This worked on the latest chrome 50, even passwords synced. – Ray Foss May 19 at 13:01

@Chowie's answer just worked for me on a Mac. I had a hard time with the other answers as they were only for PC or Linux.

For Mac user this is what needs to be done: (be sure you are not signed into both your old and new account - ONLY the old account.)

  1. go to Menu (the 3 line/hamburger symbol in the top right) and click 'settings'
  2. Select the 'disconnect' button which is one of the first buttons at the top of the main section of the settings page you just opened. Confirm you want to leave your data on the Mac (do NOT select to clear bookmarks/history etc..)
  3. Close settings tab and sign-in using the man icon in the title bar. This will prompt you that another user was previously signed in on this machine and you can either clear their data, or you can 'sign in anyway' and merge the data. The latter is of course the one we want here.

Happy migrating!

share|improve this answer
1  
Welcome to Super User. Please don't add "thanks" or compliments as answers. Invest some time in the site and you will gain sufficient privileges to upvote answers you like, which is the Super User way of saying thank you. – fixer1234 Nov 28 '15 at 4:07

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.