Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'd like to roll back a recent system change I made (tip: ALWAYS back up the relevant branch before making a registry change, even if it seems trivial), and I'm reviewing my system restores to select the best one. I see one which is labeled with a piece of software I'd rather not reinstall.

If I select this restore point, will I revert to the state before or after I installed that software? Should I select this restore point to get back to the state immediately after the installation, or would this remove my new software?

System Restore points

Should I select #5 or #6 to rollback up to, but not through, the SQL Data Tools installation?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 1 down vote accepted

They are before the action listed.


Event-triggered restore points

System Restore automatically creates a restore point before the following events:

  • Application installation (provided the application utilizes an installer that is System Restore compliant). If the application install causes system problems, the user can restore the system to a state before the installation of the application.

  • AutoUpdate installation. AutoUpdate provides an easy way for users to download critical Windows updates. After the update is downloaded, the user can install the update on the system. If the user chooses to install the update, System Restore creates a restore point before the installation of the update begins.

  • System restore. For example, if a user accidentally chooses the wrong restore point, the user can undo the restore operation by choosing a restore point before the system restore took place. The user can then choose the correct restore point.

Windows Dev Center : Restore Points

share|improve this answer

When I install an update, it sets the restore point first and names it as an update or whatever-then it updates. So If the restore point says "install xyz" it is created immediately before the install. Rolling back to that will have you back to how it was before the install..

I messed up my network adapters the other night and it reset then beautifully as I had created a restore point before

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.