They are lost because you deleted them.
Basically, when you delete them in windows then windows does the following:
- Permission check (are you allowed to delete them?).
- Check if they should be deleted or should be moved to a drives trashcan. E.g. see the tick do not move files to the recycle bin or the shiftDelete option.
- If they should be deleted -> Delete.
- If moved to trash, make room if needed, then move them there.
- If moved to trash but larger then trashcan max size: Raise a popup.
On linux it would go like this:
- On Permission check (are you allowed to delete them?).
- Delete files. Soyonara. File is wiped.
TL:DR: the normal
rm command will not check if there is a windows trashcan and what the windows configuration of that trashcan folder is.
[Edit] Some linux distributions might use something similar to the windows trashcan. However that does not mean that they will move files to the windows trashcan. Rather they will use their own. As will windows (with windows not moving it a a specific linux desktops trashcan).
Also, I should have it 'Recycle Bin' rather than trashcan.