With Windows XP, when logging in to a computer, if another user was already logged in, you were told who it was and asked if you wanted to end their session:
"The user X is currently logged on to this computer. If you continue this user's Windows Session will end and any un-saved data will be lost. Do you want to continue?"
In Windows 7, when another user attempts to log in (whether by remote desktop or at the console), they see this message:
"Another user is currently logged on to this computer. If you continue, this user has to disconnect from this computer. Do you want to continue?"
If you click Yes, you are asked to wait for a response from the current user. After a 30 second time out, if there's no response, you are logged in, and the previous user is disconnected. This is the change from XP - they are not logged off, they are disconnected, and their programs continue to run.
This is a problem for us on some of our factory floor workstations. We would like to retain the XP style behavior, and force a logoff of the existing user, as opposed to allowing programs that are now hidden from view to still execute in the background.
We already have the "Hide entry points for Fast User Switching" policy enabled, but that does not prevent two simultaneous user sessions. What can we do to force a logoff of the existing user in Windows 7?