Take the 2-minute tour ×
Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm trying to fix a problem viewing Yahoo and when I went to disable all plugins and clear everything stored I noticed a few surprising things

1) All pages still appear the same even with add-ons such as Adblock plus disabled. Are they disabled? I restarted Firefox after disabling them.

Firefox add-ons setting's screenshot

They can't possibly be disabled because on this very page Ghostery is blocking things

ghostery still blocking

2) Even though I cleared "Browsing and download history" and had "everything" chosen for the time, I still have in the address bar past sites I have visited. I noticed each time I clear the history and close Firefox, it doesn't completely close and I need to use the task manager to end the process before closing. Also the clearing of data happens instantaneously so this is suspicious. Am I doing something wrong?

clear history screen shot

UPDATE: I tried restarting Firefox in safe mode and it appears the add-ons were successfully disabled. For some reason Yahoo still displays incorrectly in Fire Fox (the orange boxes I put there to hide my e-mail =) ) Firefox screen shot

vs Internet Explorer

IE screen shot

share|improve this question
    
Please note that some types of extensions require a Firefox restart to take effect. –  vWil Dec 19 '13 at 2:32
    
@vWil I remembered to restart Firefox. If you see fit, could you upvote the question so it gets more attention? It sure is strange the add-ons are failing to disable. –  Celeritas Dec 19 '13 at 4:01
    
Try using safe mode or Firefox reset. If you could comment with your results, I may be able to help more. –  Nicolas McCurdy Dec 19 '13 at 4:41
    
@NicolasMcCurdy I tried safe mode, see my edit for what happened. I don't want to loose my saved passwords, would that happen if I did the reset? –  Celeritas Dec 19 '13 at 6:59
1  
Passwords are restored (see 'Firefox reset'), and the reset also saves the old data/folder on the desktop. But (just in case) you can take a manual backup of the password files key3.db and signons.sqlite, or the entire profile folder before resetting. Help (Alt + H) > Troubleshooting Information: Show Folder, opens the profile folder. –  vWil Dec 19 '13 at 14:48
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.