Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm a Unix guy and confused on some of the Windows 2008 licenses (irony).

What are the differences between: Standard, Enterprise, Datacenter, &c? Same codebase and kernel? What materially is different?

Also, they appear to be sometimes licensed by CPU? Is that socket or core licensing?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

Here is a decent to-the-point comparison I found for you:

As you work up through the version, each one can support more ram, cpus, virtual sessions, cluster services, hyper-v, and features like hot swap cpu's.

To my knowledge, they are not licences by cpu's. Each version however supports a certain amount of cpu cores and supports a certain amount of "virtual" stations. The license you buy is for the type of server you are running it on. Beyond that, it all CAL (user/device based licensing).

share|improve this answer
OK, not licensed by CPU, just CPU limited based upon what version apparently. – Xepoch Nov 21 '09 at 0:33
That is correct. – Troggy Nov 21 '09 at 1:45
your link is rot – Tim Schmelter Oct 7 '15 at 7:39

With regard to your first question, it's not a terrific page but this does have a breakdown of features by Windows Server 2008 "flavour":

share|improve this answer
By "not terrific" I'm referring to the readability. It does have a fairly thorough technical breakdown. – JMD Nov 20 '09 at 22:31

In regards to the CPU licensing, that's not for Windows Server. You license the clients with Client Access Licenses (CAL's) and you can have as many x-core CPU's as the Edition will allow - Web, Standard, Enterprise, Datacenter..

share|improve this answer

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .