up vote 5 down vote favorite
1

I see my PC has TCP connections open to 1e100.net. Looking at the content this seems to be a Chinese site and I immediately feared the worst re viruses/malware. Then I checked the whois record and find it is registered to...Google. Weird.

A quick search seems to indicate that 1e100.net is pretty popular - about the same reach as adobe.com or bbc.co.uk according to Alexa - but what the hell is it? I run Chrome so assume it might have something to do with that, but why all the Chinese and why does so little information appear on the web about it?

Edit: Ie100.net != 1e100.net - explains the Chinese!

flag

71% accept rate
3  
1e100 means 1 E 100. 1 * 10 ^ 100. The number, which is named Googol, where Google gets the name from. – brandstaetter Nov 27 '09 at 9:02
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Googol for further reading – brandstaetter Nov 27 '09 at 9:03
@brandstaetter Yes, I got the googol reference when I saw the whois record. Neat :) – Lunatik Nov 27 '09 at 9:19

protected by Jeff Atwood Jun 7 at 6:51

This question is protected to prevent "thanks!", "me too!", or spam answers by new users. To answer it, you must have more than 10 reputation.

1 Answer

up vote 8 down vote accepted

It's Google Safebrowsing feature in Chrome.

That feature checking sites and tell you if that site is "Attack Site"

link|flag
Why the lack of documentation that this domain is used for this purpose though? – Lunatik Nov 27 '09 at 9:38
7  
... and tells Google what you're browsing. – Moayad Mardini Nov 29 '09 at 14:12
1  
Google Safe Browsing Policy: google.com/intl/en_us/privacy_browsing.html "When you visit a site that we think could be a phishing or malware site, your browser will send Google a hashed, partial copy of the site’s URL so that we can send more information to your browser. Google cannot determine the real URL from this information." – Alan B Feb 8 at 10:14

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.