Super User is a question and answer site for computer enthusiasts and power users. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I had a virus on my computer and had to restore it. Now when I connect to iTunes (after re-installing iTunes) a prompt appears asking me to delete the songs from my iphone before the sync process can complete. I don't want to lose any of my songs on my iphone. Does anyone have a solution to this problem?

share|improve this question

You may be interested in this question. Its answers list a large number of utilities that can be used to transfer the music from your iPhone back to your computer.

share|improve this answer
    
the implication here being to re-add the iphone's current files to the itunes library so itunes will stop trying to delete the iphone's current files. – quack quixote Dec 31 '09 at 6:01

I believe you can disable this "feature" of iTunes by unchecking the "automatically sync music & media" option under iTunes' device settings for that particular iPhone. This places media management under a more manual control, but it should prevent iTunes from trying to delete the files on your device.

Disclaimer: I've only assisted my relatives with iPod/iTunes stuff, I don't use them myself.

share|improve this answer

protected by Community Jul 24 '15 at 11:22

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?