No, is not possible to keep the content while going back.
Once you go in, there is no way out.
2021 at the stage of the art,
Folks at Microsoft did not include a "Move Out" button option for moving the data out or preserving the data in the disk. The "format" will delete data, "delete" will delete and taking and "prepare for removal" will also delete the data on the disk.
In case of Storage Spaces fails and it does,
there are few options: Copy and paste, or Move past content from one drive to another. Clone is not an option.
PS: If you copy and past you will lose data as for example date created timestamp. And Moving at a "file-level" option, a full big disk is not a real option because is dangerous and unreliable. Probably will fail and create more problems having some content on one side and some on the other recursive each time you move.
There is the complex Microsoft robocopy option that does not make a sum check or final comparison does not guarantee to work. You can youse a compare software after the process but will be very time-consuming for a large amount of data.
Robocopy: A long standing issue with Robocopy means that if you back up from the root folder of a drive [ eg, robocopy d:\ b:\d-backup\ ....], the destination files will be given attributes including SH. This means that they will be invisible to normal access (including DIR in cmd.exe). To fix this, add "/a-:SH" to the robocopy command line - or do an ATTRIB command to remove them afterwards. Wikipedia