Dell monitors have names such as "U2312f" or "E2318H".

The model number is made up of (at least) four elements:

  1. Category (1 character):
    E (Economy) / T (Touch) / P (Professional) / S (Studio) / U (Ultrasharp)
  2. Diagonal length in inches (including the bezel if I'm not mistaken)
  3. A two-digit number
  4. Potential combination of several extra letters - upper or lowercase, e.g. H, M, t, f.

Can someone explain the rest of the naming scheme (components 3 and 4)?

  • 3rd is likely a model differentiator to prevent names with too much in common or model versions, and the 4th are usually feature differentiators indicating specific feature sets. – music2myear Nov 28 '17 at 20:12
  • @music2myear: But what's the differentiation about, and what are the features? – einpoklum Nov 28 '17 at 20:25
  • The best source for this would probably be Dell customer service or sales support. Companies are usually happy to provide information to customers, especially if it might improve odds of a sale. It might even be in a faq area on their web site. On Super User, though, it would be random chance that anyone would happen to know. It's attracted a close vote as off-topic, and the question is sort of at the edge of topicality. – fixer1234 Nov 28 '17 at 20:35
  • 2
    4. H - 16:9 aspect ratio, M - 16.7m colour depth, W - Ultrawide, K - 4K/8K – DavidPostill Nov 28 '17 at 20:56
  • 1
    See for more clues ... – DavidPostill Nov 28 '17 at 20:56

Since around 2010 the convention has been:

[Series][Diagonal][Year][Aspect Ratio / Resolution Code]

  1. Series
    • E - Essential. Usually TN anti-glare panel, internal power, simple base, 3-year warranty.
    • P - Professional. Usually IPS anti-glare panel, internal power, height/rotate base, 3-year warranty.
    • S - Home (aka Entertainment & Gaming). TN or IPS panel, external power, slim base, 1-year warranty.
    • U - UltraSharp. IPS anti-glare panel, internal power, height/rotate base, 3-year warranty.
    • UP - UltraSharp with PremierColor. Additional colour gamut.
    • AW - Alienware. High-end gaming.
  2. Diagonal
    • Two digit diagonal viewable size rounded to the nearest inch.
  3. Year
    • Two digit year it was released.
  4. Aspect Ratio / Resolution Code - the first letter after the digits is most commonly the aspect ratio or QHD/UHD resolution
    • S - standard ratio (4:3 or 5:4),
    • no letter - computer widescreen (16:10)
    • H - HD widescreen (16:9)
    • W - Ultrawide (21:9)
    • D - QHD (1440p)
    • Q - 4K UHD (2160p)
    • K - 8K UHD (4320p)
    • T - Touch
    • M - No HDMI (S/U-series only)
    • L - With HDMI (only used when the same model without HDMI exists)
    • N - With VGA (only used when the same model without VGA exists)
  • I own two U2412Ms - any idea what the M stands for? – flolilolilo Nov 28 '17 at 21:29
  • @einpoklum I'm trying to stick to current monitors. The convention has continually changed. – Jason Nov 28 '17 at 21:56
  • 2
    @Jason so Dell is as consistent in naming their products as I am consistent in naming my scripts' $variables :D – flolilolilo Nov 28 '17 at 23:43
  • 2
    @flolilolilo I finally figured it out and updated my answer. – Jason Nov 29 '17 at 16:54
  • 1
    > M - No HDMI (S/U-series only) But this model, S2719DM has dual HDMI ports. – user900519 May 1 at 9:38

Your Answer


By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.