0

When I try to share a folder on my network, the entirety of C:\Users is shared instead. Going to Computer Management > Shared Folders > Shares allows me to remove the Users folder, but once I try to share something else on my network the Users folder is automatically shared again.

Network has 1 Desktop, 1 Laptop, both Windows 10 Pro 1803.

  • Creating a new user and sharing a folder from this new user gives the other computer on my network access to every user account (including admin) + all their folders and files. This occurs even if the 'security' tab for the admin account is set to 'system', myself, and 'administrators'. – Cdizzle Sep 8 '18 at 2:51
  • Have you setup a home group or turned off password protected sharing? digitalcitizen.life/… – Appleoddity Sep 8 '18 at 4:29
  • it sounds like you have enabled public folder sharing (by disabling password protected sharing). See my answer here for some additional comments on this phenomona. its probably not as big a deal as you might think: superuser.com/questions/690318/… – Frank Thomas Sep 8 '18 at 6:20

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.