I'm running badblocks -vws /dev/sda on a new 80GB laptop drive to make sure the disk is good. So far it's completed 2 passes and is working on it's third.

How many passes does it normally make?


If the only flags you ran the command with were -v, -w and -s, then it should have exited after the first pass. Seeing as you're performing a with-write test, it should be safe to ^C out of anytime.

| improve this answer | |
  • 4
    badblocks -swv, at least the version I've got (from e2fsprogs 1.41.11) will run four passes with four different patterns before exiting. – gbroiles Aug 8 '10 at 19:36
  • 2
    @gbroiles That isn't four passes, it's a single pass with four patterns. That might seem pedantic, but the difference is relevant when considering the -t and -p options. See my answer. – Jon Bentley May 5 '15 at 7:40

What you're seeing is not multiple passes, it's multiple test patterns within a single pass. The -w option runs a single pass by default, and you can specify additional passes with the -p option.

However, a single pass with the -w option tests four different patterns: 0xaa, 0x55, 0xff, 0x00.

You can override this with the -t option, to specifiy your own test pattern(s). E.g. to test only a single pattern you could do something like this:

badblocks -vwst 0x00 /dev/sda

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.