The answer is normally no. Usually, it is some kind of user error, and they don't even realize they did it.
I would check my backups (see what file list a restore gives you), and compare them to the contents of the current folder, that will tell you for sure if the user is simply mistaken, which I have seen 100% of the time. In my experience, they always have accidentally draged a folder into another folder. If they can tell you the name of a specific file a simple
dir PartialFileName*.* /s will find where they accidentally move it to.
Another option: I don't know if you have Shadow Copies enabled, but if so, right click on the share, and then the "Previous Versions" tab. You may find something there too, but I am not sure if moving the file also moves the shadow.