I've been looking around and seen two different things ways to declare swap in fstab.

I've seen something like the line below:

UUID=UUID-HERE none swap sw 0 0


UUID=UUID-HERE none swap swap 0 0`

What, if anything, is the difference?


When the filesystem type is swap, neither of these options mean anything. In fact, the only option that makes sense is pri=n, specifying the swap space priority. Usually you don't need it and can just specify defaults:

UUID=foo   none   swap   defaults

(The mount point, as well as dump and pass fields, are irrelevant too.)

  • 1
    Thanks, I figured mount dump and pass were irrelevant. I hadn't seen it as defaults before, but I have since I was searching after asking the question. – Rob Sep 19 '11 at 18:16

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.