8

I've accidentally pressed the "Amend last commit" button in git extensions. My last commit has already been pushed/shared with others, so I actually do not want to do that.

I usually used this button like this:

  1. click on the button – it loads the previous message
  2. stage new changes
  3. when click on the button again, it performs git commit --amend

Now, I don't want to click the button again. I'd rather like to overwrite the message and do regular commit.

The thing that confuses me is: When I close the commit dialog and open it again, I can see the old message in the box.

Can someone please confirm if this is how buttons will behave, and I don't "amend" anything?

3

Can someone please confirm if this is how buttons will behave, and I don't "amend" anything?

Just tested this on my local system, it will create a new commit and not amend the previous one.

| improve this answer | |
  • Thanks for the effort. Silly me - could have done it myself on another repo... – tishma Oct 7 '11 at 13:29
  • @tishmayeah yeah, but not a problem. Cheers! – Sathyajith Bhat Oct 7 '11 at 16:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.