I was searching for documentation on how the options rd.lvm.lv, rd.luks.uuid, options work, but could not find anything relevant. The official GRUB documentation does not mention them.

After installing Fedora 20 I had the following in /etc/default/grub:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rd.luks.uuid=luks-********* rd.lvm.lv=VolGroup01/root rd.lvm.lvVolGroup01/swap ..."

Why can multiple rd.lvm.lv options can occur? Can I use rd.lvm.uuid instead of rd.lvm.lv? Such questions come into mind.


The options in question seem to be defined in the kernel itself. This kernel documentation covers them:


only activate the logical volumes with the given name. rd.lvm.lv can be specified multiple times on the kernel command line.


disable crypto LUKS detection


only activate the LUKS partitions with the given UUID. Any "luks-" of the LUKS UUID is removed before comparing to . The comparisons also matches, if is only the beginning of the LUKS UUID, so you don’t have to specify the full UUID. This parameter can be specified multiple times.


disable MD RAID detection


disable MD RAID for imsm/isw raids, use DM RAID instead


disable MD RAID for SNIA ddf raids, use DM RAID instead


ignore mdadm.conf included in initramfs


wait for any resync, recovery, or reshape activity to finish before continuing


only activate the raid sets with the given UUID. This parameter can be specified multiple times.

rd.lvm.uuid does not appear to be supported.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.