Where does Windows Vista saves memory dump files after crash when the previous dump file exists and the option "Overwrite any existing file" is unchecked?
As in the title, what happen and what does the system do when the configuration is as the mentioned above?
I think it may be not saved then, but a progress bar is displayed on 'blue screen' every time before the restart and it lasts some time as if duping were processing.
I found something like below, but how it would affect a free disk space if it doesn't save anything in this setting?
"If there is a need to maintain multiple dumps of an issue, then you should uncheck the "Overwrite any existing file" box as well. However, please remember that this may put a strain on free disk space over time."
The source is https://blogs.technet.com/b/askperf/archive/2008/01/08/understanding-crash-dump-files.aspx
It's really hard to understand how it works if it allows to set a dump option and won't do it because of the same name of file without any warning. What does this option exist for? Shouldn't it set off the dumping or just does it mean the same?