3

301 redirects are permanent. They mean that the page has moved, and they request any search engine or user agent coming to the page to update the URL in their database. This is the most common type of redirect that people should use.

I migreated a certain part of my application from baseurl/app to app.mydomain.com. Eventually, I would like to shut down baseurl/app. Hence, I was wondering if people who bookmarked mydomain.com/app will have their browser bookmark automatically updated.

  • No they don't. The user must update it themselves. – Matthew Williams Mar 21 '14 at 11:07
3

I can say that most major browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera) don't update their bookmarks themselves, so it might break bookmarks for some users when you stop the 301 redirect. You could check the server access log for these URL's to see if they are still commonly used. And inform users using the old URL's before shut down.

See also similar questions:

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.