1

I have been using multiple profiles on Chrome for both Work and Personal. In preparing to exit Work, I noticed that the majority of my personal Saved Passwords are available in my Work profile (and vice versa). I opened both profiles in new windows, and tried deleting from the Work profile's list of passwords, and noticed the change reflected (after refresh) in the Personal profile. I created a VM and install Ubuntu, and logged in with the Work profile, and noticed that changes aren't reflect in/from there... ie, I delete in Host machine or Guest machine, and those removals are not reflected in each other... but Host-Work delete shows in Host-Personal.

Anyone know if there is a way to remove all my Personal data from the Work account, without losing it in my Personal profile as well?

0

Not sure if there is a "better" way, but what I noticed is that if I deleted stuff in Chrome on the host machine, it affected both accounts... so deleting personal accounts on the Work profile, still removed from my Personal profile too. However, if I delete in the VM (with Work profile only), then only the Work profile is affected on the Host machine. I was able to then cherry pick in the VM, and verify in the Host Personal profile that I retained my accounts, but removed in the Host Work profile. I even did "stop and clear" in the Host Work profile, and then synced again and no personal accounts came back.

Hope this helps someone else.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.