11

I have been trying for hours to accomplish what I thought would be an easy task, but am utterly baffled by Windows file sharing permissions. Please help me.

PC1 - Server - contains a shared folder called "backups"

PC2 - desktop

  1. Created a user on server
  2. Gave that user "Full Control" under "Share Permissions" tab
  3. Navigated to \\server from my desktop and put in the user/pass
  4. I can see the folder. When I click on it, Windows tells me "Access is Denied."

I've tried:

  • Restarting
  • Logging in/out
  • Changing HomeeGroup sharing from "Allow Windows to Use user accounts"

enter image description here

enter image description here

11

As I can see from your description you want to share a directory.
Since you use Windows 8 and I can see the "Security" tab you are using NTFS-filesystem.
It seems like you didn´t configure NTFS-permissions.

  • Click on the "Security" Tab of the Folder you want to share.
  • Then "Edit..."
  • In the new window click "Add..."
  • In the new window click "Advanced..."
  • In the new window click "Find Now..."
  • Select the user who needs the permission to acces the folder.
  • Go back to the "Permissions for " dialog.
  • Choose the user you added.
  • Set permission to "Allow" / Full controll (Or at least read permission)
  • Click Apply.

On the sharing tab, the only entry you Need is:

  • Everyone
  • With permission "Full Controll".

You can manage the permissions with the NTFS-Permissions of the Security Tab.

The rest of the configuration looks correct.

| improve this answer | |
  • 4
    I see now. There are essentially two levels of security. One at the NTFS level governed by the Security tab. Then a second at the sharing level which covers network access. I can safely leave "everyone" on at the sharing level and just use NTFS security to govern access. Makes sense? – mrtsherman Aug 11 '14 at 12:44
  • @mrtsherman yes, you're right. – Andie2302 Aug 11 '14 at 12:52
0

Just a quick heads-up. When using an AD and sharing something to multiple people, using the authenticated users group over the everyone group is slightly more secure.

This is a default group when you do have an AD. It just means that if someone were to plug into a wall outlet they would also need a login that matches with your AD to get to your share.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.