4

There is quite a lot of information out there how to disable the creation of the thumbs.db files that store thumbnail info for images within a given folder. I personally have no problem with the thumbs.db file as they are hidden. But what bothers me greatly is that Windows still gives a warning about deletion of such files even when I am deleting the entire folder it is in. <vent>Why would a user want to preserve the thumbnail info in a folder if they desire to delete the entire folder? </vent>

With that in mind, is there any conceivable way to disable such warnings?

  • For instance- since this behavior is due to thumbs.db being considered a system file, can I 'demote' them to a more worldly status? – Lucas Fortini Aug 13 '14 at 19:09
  • Those warnings appear whenever there's at least one file with the System attribute set. The easiest way to bypass them is to use the command-line interface: rd /s /q "X:\some\folder" – and31415 Aug 13 '14 at 19:57
  • Yes, it's kind of ironic that Windows lets you delete "PreciousFamilyPhoto.jpg" and "UnrecoverableManuscript.docx" without a problem (which is fine, BTW), but yells "OMG, you are about to delete thumbs.db, are you really, really sure?". I guess the solution would be to have some "non-vital system (cache) file" attribute, but only Microsoft can implement that. – Heinzi Feb 24 '16 at 9:07
  • If Hide protected operating system files (Recommended) option in Folder Options is not checked, you'll get warnings when deleting folders that contain images. – akinuri Sep 25 '17 at 13:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.