I'd like to bind the Tmux prefix to the unicode character (while also keeping C-b).

I'we tried putting the following in my ~/.tmux.conf, but none of theese works

set -g prefix M-$ bind M-$ send-prefix

set -g prefix  bind  send-prefix

set -g prefix "" bind "" send-prefix

I'm on OS X Yosemite 10.10.3, using a Danish keyboard layout.


tmux only binds "single" characters (8-bit) plus a few special keys which can be found in the terminal database.

The manual is a little vague:

tmux allows a command to be bound to most keys, with or without a prefix key. When specifying keys, most represent themselves (for example ‘A’ to ‘Z’). Ctrl keys may be prefixed with ‘C-’ or ‘^’, and Alt (meta) with ‘M-’. In addition, the following special key names are accepted: Up, Down, Left, Right, BSpace, BTab, DC (Delete), End, Enter, Escape, F1 to F12, Home, IC (Insert), NPage/PageDown/PgDn, PPage/PageUp/PgUp, Space, and Tab.

However, this has been discussed before (along with the ctrl and alt modifiers):

  • Arh yearh, I found theese, just hoped in vain that something had changed since 2012 :( But thank you for the quick reply anyway. – AllanLRH Jun 22 '15 at 10:32

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.